City of Canyon Elections

Register to Vote today!

vote-texas image Opens in new window

Welcome to the City of Canyon City Secretary's Election page.  The following information is provided to guide voters and potential candidates through the election process.

The next General Election for the City of Canyon City Commission Places 1 (Mayor) and 2 through 5 will be held May 6, 2023.  has been canceled due to all Places running unopposed.

Provided below are links to forms and information for Candidates wishing to run in the May 6, 2023 General Election.

Applications for a place on the ballot for the May 6, 2023 Election were accepted starting January 18, 2023 during regular business hours, Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. The last day to file for a place on the ballot was February 17, 2023 at 5:00 pm.  As all places have been certified as running unopposed, the May 6, 2023 General Election for the City of Canyon was cancelled at the March 6, 2023 Commission meeting by Resolution No. 11-2023.  The Mayor and Commissioners will be sworn in for the 2023-2025 term at the Commission Meeting scheduled for Thursday, May 18, 2023 at 4:30 pm.

Certification of Unopposed Candidates for the May 6, 2023 General Election 
Resolution No. 11-2023 - Canceling the May 6, 2023 General Election 
Candidate Packet for May 6, 2023 General Election (printed copy available in City Secretary office)
Candidate Eligibility Requirements
Notice of Deadline to file
Resolution / Order Calling Election
Calendar with important dates for Candidates
Campaign Finance Report / Appointment of Treasurer Forms

Applications must be received by 5 p.m. February 18, 2023 and can be filed in person or sent by mail to:

City of Canyon City Hall
City Secretary's Office, Second Floor
301 16th Street
Canyon, Texas 79015                    

List of Applications for Place on the Ballot officially filed to date.                                                                          

The Current City Commissioners are:

Mayor, Place 1
Gary Hinders
Commissioner Place 2
Cordell (Cody) Rook Jones
Commissioner Place 3
Paul R. Lyons
Commissioner Place 4
Kelsey Ward
Commissioner Place 5
Randy Ray

  Voter Registration information